24.8 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024
HomeSportsCricketT20 Cricket World Cup: A look at debut years of all participating...

T20 Cricket World Cup: A look at debut years of all participating countries

- Advertisement -

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup, set to occur in June next year across West Indies and the United States of America, will welcome Namibia as the 19th qualified team out of 20. This will be the African nation’s third appearance at the World Cup.

Out of the 19 teams qualified, two teams will be making their debut next year – USA and Canada. United States of America get automatic qualification courtesy of being the hosts of the tournament while Canada qualified after beating Bermuda in the Americas qualifiers.

Cricket Nations T20 World Cup Debut Years

Let’s take a look at all the teams that have qualified for the T20 World Cup in history and the editions they made their debuts in.

TeamDebut YearAppearancesBest Result
England20078Winner (2010, 2022)
West Indies20078Winner (2012, 2016)
India20078Winner (2007)
Australia20078Winner (2021)
Sri Lanka20078Winner (2014)
Pakistan20078Winner (2009)
New Zealand20078Runner-Up (2021)
South Africa20078Semi-Finalist (2009, 2014)
Bangladesh20078Super 8s (2007)
Zimbabwe20076Super 12s (2022)
Scotland20075Super 12s (2021)
Kenya20071First Round (2007)
Ireland20097Super 8s (2009)
Netherlands20095Super 10s (2014)
Afghanistan20106Super 10s (2016)
Hong Kong20142First Round (2014, 2016)
United Arab Emirates20142First Round (2014, 2022)
Nepal20141First Round (2014)
Oman20162First Round (2016, 2021)
Namibia20212Super 12s (2021)
Papua New Guinea20211First Round (2021)
United States of America2024*
*USA and Canada have qualified for the 2024 T20 World Cup and will be making their debut

2024 ICC T20 World Cup Qualified Teams and Format

Automatic entries went to hosts West Indies and USA, marking the latter’s inaugural participation. England, Pakistan, New Zealand, India, Australia, South Africa, Netherlands, and Sri Lanka secured spots based on their top-eight finishes in the previous 2022 T20 World Cup. Afghanistan and Bangladesh followed as per T20I rankings, and other entries emerged from regional qualifiers.

The 20 teams will be split into four groups of five for the June 4-30 tournament, with the top two from each group advancing to the Super 8 stage. The Super 8s will consist of two pools of four teams each, and the top two from each pool will proceed to the semi-finals.

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -